6.8 Northern Corridor infrastructure master plan

This is a strategic development plan for the Northern Corridor infrastructure until 2030. It encompasses the five Northern Corridor Transit Agreement member countries – Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of Congo – Ethiopia, northern Tanzania and the southern Sudan region.

The key challenges faced are constraints to expanding the port of Mombasa and the inadequacy of the Mombasa-Kampala railway, issues already identified by the governments of Kenya and Uganda. The governments are engaged in developing a new port in Lamu and upgrading the railway line to standard gauge. The master plan supports these projects, and the recommended actions and investments (totalling USD 2.1 billion) are designed to incorporate them.

Other priority projects are road access to the port of Mombasa, the Eldoret bypass, the Eldoret-Lokichogio road to Sudan, maintenance of the Mombasa-Kampala railway, the ports of Banana, Lamu and Kisangani, and transport on Lake Victoria and the Congo River.

Issuing body: Transit Transport Coordination Authority of the Northern Corridor
Type: Report
Status: Final
Northern Corridor infrastructure master plan: final report. Executive summary
File type:
File size: 969.08 KB
Year of publication: 2011
Number of pages: 27